If you have heard that it is illegal to drive while using a cell phone but don’t know what constitutes as a violation, The Glass Law Group is able to help you out. Our Suffolk County, NY cell phone ticket attorney will be able to help you understand the why and how you can get a ticket for driving while using a cell phone. If you have never been pulled over for using a cell phone in New York, you likely don’t know much about the law that pertains to driving while using a cell phone. This type of traffic violation is taken extremely seriously in New York, as it is a distraction that can be avoided. Some would even say that it is a senseless act that costs lives. It is serious and should be taken seriously. The state of New York will see to it that if you are a motorist in Suffolk County, you do not drive while on the phone or checking your phone. There are very harsh penalties and high fines for driving while operating a vehicle.
Suffolk County Cell Phone Tickets
Like a lot of other motorists, you might not see anything wrong with using the text-to-talk feature on your cell phone. Some will attempt to continue using their phone with the hope that they can actually do it without catching the attention of a police officer. However, the police are on to you and that is why they have issued SUVs to the state troopers in Suffolk County. They have the advantage of looking down into your vehicle to see whether you’re using your cell phone or not. Everything they do is in an effort to get motorists to see how serious this type of driving offense is. No one is exempt from following the rules of the road.
There are sometimes that it is actually necessary to look at your phone while you are driving; however, this isn’t a cut and dry situation that you can easily explain to an officer. Since this is the case, you may require the services of a local traffic ticket attorney like The Glass Law Group. With the help of our Suffolk cell phone ticket lawyer, they can negotiate on your behalf to get the ticket fine reduced or dismissed. You have the advantage of having an attorney represent you that is a constant presence in the courtrooms of Suffolk County.
Holding your cell phone is not the only thing that could be considered illegal in New York, here are a couple of things to consider:
Viewing, taking, or transmitting images
Talking on a handheld mobile telephone
Retrieving electronic data such as e-mail, text messages, or webpages
Composing, sending, reading, accessing, browsing, transmitting, saving, or
If you use your cell phone or any other portable device when you are driving a vehicle (other than contacting an emergency response service or contacting 911), you will receive a traffic ticket and fines and surcharges will apply.
If you don’t want points on your record, don’t drive and use your cell phone. If you have at least 11 points on your record within 18-months, they could suspend your license. Find out more by visiting About the NYS Driver Point System.
Fines for violations committed on or after November 1, 2014
|Second offense within 18 months||$50||$250|
|Third or subsequent offense within 18 months||$50||$450|
The surcharge for all violations can be up to $93.
Before July 26, 2013, the fines were:
|Cell phone violation||up to $100|
|Texting violation||up to $100|
The surcharge for violations that occurred before July 26th was up to $85.
Driver violation points
- For offenses committed between October 5, 2011, and May 31, 2013, this violation carries three driver violation points
- For offenses committed on or after June 1, 2013, this violation carries five driver violation points
- Penalties for probationary and junior drivers with a Class DJ or MJ driver license or learner permit
- Effective November 1, 2014, the first conviction of a cell phone use or texting violation will result in a suspension of the driver license or permit for 120 days.
- A second conviction within six months of the restoration of the license or permit (after the 120-day suspension is terminated) will result in
- A revocation of at least one year of a probationary license, or
- A revocation of at least one-year for a class DJ or MJ driver license or learner permit
Restrictions for Motor Carriers and Commercial Vehicle Drivers
- Effective October 28, 2013
- A motor carrier must not allow or require their drivers to use cell phones or texting devices while driving
- A mobile telephone used by a person who operates a commercial motor vehicle shall not be deemed a “hands-free mobile telephone” when the driver presses more than a single button to dial or answer the phone
- A commercial vehicle driver is not allowed to make a phone call or use a texting device while the vehicle is temporarily stationary because of traffic, a traffic control device, or other momentary delays
- A commercial vehicle driver who holds a mobile telephone to, or in the immediate proximity of, his or her ear while the vehicle is temporarily stationary because of traffic, a traffic control device or other momentary delays is also presumed to be engaged in a call
- A commercial vehicle driver who holds a portable electronic device in a conspicuous manner while the vehicle is temporarily stationary because of traffic, a traffic control device or other momentary delays is presumed to be using the device
- For more information, see the Distracted Driving page at the Governor’s Traffic Safety Committee website.