Although you received a ticket for a moving violation, you may not know exactly why you received it. You may not even know what the term, ‘moving violation’ even means. A moving violation is when a traffic law is violated with your vehicle in motion. These may involve running a stop sign or red light, speeding or driving under the influence of narcotics. This is not to be confused with a non-moving violation, which our Long Island lawyers at The Glass Law Group will be able to discuss with you in further detail when you contact us about your traffic ticket.
A traffic ticket may involve an infraction or violation. The majority of the tickets issued in Long Island are unclassified misdemeanors or infractions.
Traffic Tickets Convictions With Automatic License Revocation
While most moving traffic infractions carry points and a fine, some carry automatic license revocations. A conviction for a moving violation received during the probationary period, your license will generally result in a license suspension for a set amount of time. Also pleading guilty to, or being convicted of driving without insurance (VTL 319.1), will automatically result in a one-year revocation of your license. You will also be required to pay a $750 civil penalty in addition to a fine and surcharge.
Long Island Traffic Tickets That Result in a Criminal Record
Long Island motorists who have traffic offenses may also receive a misdemeanor or felony charge. Driving with a suspended license (VTL 511.1a) is considered a misdemeanor. If you plead guilty to charges of driving with a suspended license, you will end up with a criminal record. This wouldn’t apply if you were under the age of 19 when you receive the ticket.
Below, you will find a partial list of offenses that are considered misdemeanors in Long Island:
VTL 340-(a) Failure to surrender license/registration/plates after revocation under article
VTL 511.1(a) Aggravated Unlicensed Operation in the 3rd degree
VTL 511.2 (a) Aggravated Unlicensed Operation in the 2nd Degree
VTL 319-2 Produced Invalid Insurance ID card
VTL 375-I Inadequate Brakes
VTL 375-1 Inadequate Trailer Brakes
VTL 1212 Reckless Driving
VTL 1182 Unauthorized speed contest
VTL 306-e Fictitious Inspection Certificate
VTL 600-2a Leaving the scene of an accident with personal Injury
Drivers Assessment Fees in New York State
If you accumulate 6 or more points, with dates of violation within an 18 month period of each other, the NYS DMV will impose a driver assessment fee. The driver assessment fee is in addition to any fines, surcharges and court fees imposed by the court. The amount of the assessment depends on the number of points. The higher the points, the higher the assessment fee. The New York State Driver assessment fee starts at $300 ($100 per year for 3 years) for 6 points. For every point over 6 points, the driver’s assessment fee is $75 ($25 per year for 3 years). If you accumulate 8 points, with dates of violation within an 18 month period the driver assessment fee will be $450 ($150 a year for 3 years). 11 points translate to a $675 driver assessment fee ($225 a year for 3 years). Inasmuch as many speeding tickets issued in Suffolk County carry 6, 8, and 11 points by themselves, the points can quickly add up. Driver assessment fees are imposed regardless of whether you have a New York State driver’s license or not.
How Can The Glass Law Group Help
We don’t only know the law in Long Island but we also know the level of stress and anxiety that motorists experience when they receive a ticket of any type. However, you can be sure that when you contact The Glass Law Group, you’ll be met with a kind and listening ear. We will certainly put your mind at ease in knowing that we will do our absolute best to challenge your ticket, in hopes of receiving the best outcome.