Sometimes, motorists contact The Glass Law Group after having received a ticket for a moving violation without knowing why or what it means for them. A moving violation involves a violation of a traffic law while the vehicle is in motion. This could involve anything like running a red light, stop sign, driving under the influence of narcotics or speeding. Don’t confuse this with a non-moving violation, which was happy to discuss with you in detail when you contact The Glass Law Group. Some tickets will incur an infraction or a violation; however, most tickets issued are Unclassified misdemeanors or infractions. Contact our traffic ticket lawyers and find out all that you need to know about moving violations and non-moving violations.
Traffic Ticket Convictions That Result in License Revocation
It can really be alarming to a motorist when they receive a moving violation ticket and get their license revoked. In most cases, a moving violation ticket will result in your receiving points or a fine. If you receive a conviction for a moving violation while you are still in a probationary period, it will result in the suspension of your license. Pleading guilty to driving without insurance will also result in a one-year revocation of your license and require you to pay a civil penalty fine of $750, along with additional fines and surcharges.
Traffic Tickets and a Criminal Record
If you have traffic offenses in Nassau County, you could also receive a misdemeanor or felony charge. When a motorist is caught driving with a suspended license this is also considered a misdemeanor. Pleading guilty to these charges will not only get you a ticket but will eventually lead to criminal charges. However, if under the age of 19, this wouldn’t apply.
Here is a partial list of offenses that would be considered misdemeanors in Nassau County:
VTL 340-(a) Failure to surrender license/registration/plates after revocation under article
VTL 511.1(a) Aggravated Unlicensed Operation in the 3rd degree
- VTL 511.2 (a) Aggravated Unlicensed Operation in the 2nd Degree
VTL 319-2 Produced Invalid Insurance ID card
VTL 375-I Inadequate Brakes
VTL 375-1 Inadequate Trailer Brakes
VTL 1212 Reckless Driving
VTL 1182 Unauthorized speed contest
VTL 306-e Fictitious Inspection Certificate
VTL 600-2a Leaving the scene of an accident with personal Injury
Drivers Assessment Fees in New York State
If you accumulate 6 or more points, with dates of violation within an 18 month period of each other, the NYS DMV will impose a driver assessment fee. The driver assessment fee is in addition to any fines, surcharges and court fees imposed by the court. The amount of the assessment depends on the number of points. The higher the points, the higher the assessment fee. The New York State Driver assessment fee starts at $300 ($100 per year for 3 years) for 6 points. For every point over 6 points, the driver’s assessment fee is $75 ($25 per year for 3 years). If you accumulate 8 points, with dates of violation within an 18 month period the driver assessment fee will be $450 ($150 a year for 3 years). 11 points translate to a $675 driver assessment fee ($225 a year for 3 years). Inasmuch as many speeding tickets issued in Suffolk County carry 6, 8, and 11 points by themselves, the points can quickly add up. Driver assessment fees are imposed regardless of whether you have a New York State driver’s license or not.
Hire The Glass Law Group Moving Violation Attorney
Our Nassau County attorneys don’t just know the law, the life by the law. Knowing the law and how it applies to you can be of great benefit to you. We understand the amount of frustration and anxiety that is experienced when someone receives a traffic ticket. You can count on our attorneys to produce the best results for your case.