If you have received a traffic ticket for a moving violation, let The Glass Law Group help explain exactly what this means, if you don’t already know. This type of ticket means that the motorist violated some type of law involving their vehicle while it was in motion. This might be running a red light, not stopping at a stop sign, speeding or driving while intoxicated. Some motorists are even issued non-moving violations, which shouldn’t be confused with a moving violation. Regardless of the type you receive, you can be certain that our professional attorneys will be able to discuss the details of each one with you in a way that will make it clear to you. Some tickets will receive an infraction or a violation. Most tickets that we come across are unclassified misdemeanors or infractions. Contact our Suffolk County law office and learn more about moving violations.
Traffic Ticket Convictions and License Revocation
If you have received a traffic ticket for a moving violation, you may not know it but your license may also be revoked without your knowing it. This is often why many come to see us at The Glass Law Group. They are stopped for a moving violation and then they are told that their license is revoked. However, in the majority of the cases we handle, the moving violation only gets them points added to their record. When you receive a conviction for a moving violation and you are still in the probationary period, you may end up with a suspended license.
Traffic Tickets and a Criminal Record
When you have a misdemeanor or felony charge in Suffolk County, NY this might be due to the various traffic offenses you have received. If you are found driving with a suspended license, this is what would be considered a misdemeanor. If you are found guilty of driving with a suspended license, you will receive criminal charges. If the motorist is under the age of 19, this would not apply to them.
Here is a partial list of offenses that would be considered misdemeanors in Suffolk County:
VTL 340-(a) Failure to surrender license/registration/plates after revocation under article
VTL 511.1(a) Aggravated Unlicensed Operation in the 3rd degree
VTL 511.2 (a) Aggravated Unlicensed Operation in the 2nd Degree
VTL 319-2 Produced Invalid Insurance ID card
VTL 375-I Inadequate Brakes
VTL 375-1 Inadequate Trailer Brakes
VTL 1212 Reckless Driving
VTL 1182 Unauthorized speed contest
VTL 306-e Fictitious Inspection Certificate
VTL 600-2a Leaving the scene of an accident with personal Injury
Drivers Assessment Fees in New York State
If you accumulate 6 or more points, with dates of violation within an 18 month period of each other, the NYS DMV will impose a driver assessment fee. The driver assessment fee is in addition to any fines, surcharges and court fees imposed by the court. The amount of the assessment depends on the number of points. The higher the points, the higher the assessment fee. The New York State Driver assessment fee starts at $300 ($100 per year for 3 years) for 6 points. For every point over 6 points, the driver’s assessment fee is $75 ($25 per year for 3 years). If you accumulate 8 points, with dates of violation within an 18 month period the driver assessment fee will be $450 ($150 a year for 3 years). 11 points translate to a $675 driver assessment fee ($225 a year for 3 years). Inasmuch as many speeding tickets issued in Suffolk County carry 6, 8, and 11 points by themselves, the points can quickly add up. Driver assessment fees are imposed regardless of whether you have a New York State driver’s license or not.
Hire The Glass Law Group for Your Moving Violation Ticket
We have an intelligent team of professional attorneys who know their business. The fact that they know the law and how it applies to each and every case that we take; is sure to benefit you. There is a great deal of anxiety and frustration that results from receiving a traffic ticket. Trust our traffic attorneys to represent your best interests in court.